Trimble County Post Offices

Over time, there have been over 24 differently named post offices in Trimble County.  Some of these are the result of a town changing its name; most are not.  The fact that a place had a post office should not be interpreted to mean it was actually a town, as you and I think of it today: it may well have been somebody’s general store, with a stack of mail on a shelf and a little box of stamps off to the side.  And in any given community, it may have changed location based on the politics of the most recent election.  

The peak in Trimble County was in 1903-04, when there were 18 post offices open at the same time.  The consolidation between 1904 and 1910, however, was rapid.  By 1910, there were only seven post offices left: Bedford, Corn Creek, Hisle, Jennings, Leeport, Milton, and Monitor.  

The USPS has a web site here, that lists every postmaster in the history of some, current post offices.  As of this writing in fall of 2005, Bedford is listed, Milton is not.  

Here’s a chart that will give you a vague idea of how many post offices were open in any given year between the first (Bedford, 1818) and now.  

There’s a similar chart that covers all eleven counties of Northern Kentucky Views, here.

Began Closed Town
1880 1906 Abbott
1859 1862 Abbotsford
1818 2005 Bedford
1893 1894 Callis
1890 1906 Carmel
1831 1913 Corn Creek
1904 1909 Cottage Hill
1873 1904 Ewingford
1851 1862 Garriott's Landing
1896 1907 Gum
1890 1903 Hammels
1909 1913 Hisle
1902 1913 Jennings
1891 1912 Leeport
1819 2005 Milton
1903 1913 Monitor
1892 1907 Mount Pleasant
1902 1905 Revere
1887 1906 Trout
1891 1892 Vail
1900 1904 Welch
1851 1905 Winona
1900 1904 Welch
1851 1905 Winona