Aerial View of Bedford, 1916
|Looking down north West Street. It was taken from the roof of Mrs. Roxie Wyatt. That's Dr. J. W. McMahon's barn in the foreground, and Peak's pasture on the right. The church spires are from the Baptist, Christian and Methodist Churches.|
The Marathon station Bennie Mershall and Arthur Cutshaw operated in the 60’s.
From a Facebook post by Bob Boyd
|West Street, looking North. 1916||Main Street, looking North, 1916||Bedford
more info on this scene is here.
|South Side of Courthouse, 1916
That's the Fielding and
Lydia Adams Home
|Trimble County Jail
That's Harry Webster,
the Town Marshall
|Harry Dare Morgan,
Fire in Bedford
Bedford's experience with devastating fires has not been good. A history of Bedford fires is here (pdf).
From the Trimble County Historical Society's Trimble County Heritage, 1991-92.
Bedford Fairgrounds (hence, Fairground Road)
From a Facebook post by Bob Boyd
|This picture appeared in the May 30, 1969 issue of Look magazine. They were complaining about the passing zone over a hill crest, “near Bedford, Ky.,” on US 421.||Bedford's Eliza Parker's muffin recipe
was featured in this ad from an 1892 issue of The Congregationalist.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, December 29, 1897
A fascinating view of the sales of an 1853 Bedford General store is here.
“Newton Lane is the contractor for carrying mail from Louisville to Bedford, Kentucky, forty miles, once a week, at a compensation of one hundred and twenty dollars per annum.”from the Public Documents of the 23rd Congress, December 1, 1834
|“Bedford, in Trimble county, has organized a turf association, and is preparing a track which will soon be ready for use.” Courier-Journal, September 15, 1874|
|A 1926 history of the Bedford Women's Club is here.||“Miss Dora Isaacs, pianist at the opera house, has returned to her home in Bedford, Ky., for a few day, when she will return to Madison for the opera season.” Indianapolis Journal, October 1, 1893|
|Bedford became an official town by this act of the Legislature, on February 6, 1816.||The second half of this statute allows Bedford some leeway in handling it's streets.|
|The Bedford Turf Association forms.||Murder, in Bedford.|
|“A company of sixty home guards, from Lagrange, visited Bedford, Trimble county, yesterday, and took possession of forty seven stands of arms, which had been in the hands of the State guard there.” from the Daily Wabash (Ind.) Express, October 7, 1861||“Madison, Ind., June 17. – The rebel force in Trimble county took possession of Bedford, Ky., the county seat, to-day, capturing the Provost Marshal and others, and threatened to hang the Provost Marshal at last accounts. Bedford is ten miles south of this place.” Evansville Daily Journal, June 18, 1864|
|Bedford's Sabe Devine, a black-hearted man of Bedford|
|An unknown correspondent reminisces to a friend about missing Bedford, here. (pdf)||An 1873 account of the Bedford Springs Mineral Water Resort is here.|
The man who first settled Bedford was Richard Bell, who built a house around 1805 on the hill above Bedford Springs. The town of Bedford was established February 16, 1816, and incorporated on March 5, 1850. The name Bedford comes from Bell's former home - Bedford, Virginia.
“The Bedford jail was guarded Wednesday night to protect young Devine, slayer of McGammon. The popular feeling is strong against him.” the Covington Journal, December 13, 1884
|The Bedford Sons of Temperance established, 1850.||Bedford Masonic Lodge established, 1851|